The Commissionerate of Rural Development in implementing various schemes aimed for the improvement of quality of life people in rural area by completely utilizing the physical and human resources, through schemes formulated by central and State Government. The major Central Government Schemes include Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment guarantee Scheme (MGNREGS) for wage employment, PradhanMantri (PMAY(G) AwasYojana (Grameen) for the Construction  of houses, for the rural people below poverty line Water shed development programmes for the protection of Nature and Water bodies, Rural infrastructure development programmes with the assistance of NABARD PradhamantriGramaSadakYojana for the construction of All-weather roads, cluster development scheme aimed Government  developing rural areas by provision of economic social and physical infrastructure activities. Mahila in addition,KissanSaSaktheekaranpariyojana (MKSP) for the improvement of mechanized paddy cultivation through women agrilabours State sponsored schemes are also complementing.

The Programme is being monitored by Commissionerate of Rural Development by state level, functioning at SwarajBhavan, 4th floor Nanthan Code Thiruvananthapuram. The Administrative head is Commissioner assisted by Additional Development Commissioners, Joint Development Commissioners, State Coordinator and Assistant  Development Commissioner in Scheme complementation. One senior Administrative officer and one senior Finance officer from Government Secretariat is heading the administrative matters and Financial matters of the Department.

At the district level Schemes are complemented by Project Director of Poverty Alleviation Unit, affiliated to District Panchayat. The administrative head of the district is Assistant Development Commissioner (General). All the schemes are implemented through Block Panchayat by Block Panchayat secretary / Block Development officer. A well-established office set up is organized from State, village level for the complementation of Central and State Sponsored Schemes.

152 development block / block Panchayat are functioning in 14 districts of the State. The main training institute Kerala institute of Local Administration (KILA) a part of Local Self Government Department with its head quarter at Mulankunnathukavu, Thrissur is providing training to all the employees under the Department. As part of KILA, three sub centers namely KILA, Centre for human resource development Kottarakkara, KIA Centre for Socio economic development Centre for yoodgovernancemannuthy, Thrissur, KILA Centre for organic farming & wale management Thaliparambu, Kannur are established. Food processing & nutrition Centre (FPNL) Balussery Kozhikode, Kerala Rural Development & marketing Society (KERAMS) Thiruvananthapuram, Rural Information etc are also working under Commissioner.